Surrounded by trees that turn fiery shades come fall, this beauty dates back to 1872 and straddles the Sunday River. It only fits 50 loved ones for the ceremony and is always open to the public, but the Newry town office in Maine doesn’t charge usage fees and manages a special-events calendar to prevent battles of the bridal parties. For more information, call 207-824-3123.
Just 35 minutes south of St. Louis in Goldman, Missouri, rests a charming connector, built in 1872, that holds up to 75 attendees. You can’t rent out the entire park, but visitors are sparse and there’s no fee -- unless you plan to serve two or more drinks per person, in which case a $250 damage deposit is assessed. For more information, visit mostateparks.com.
Landrum, South Carolina, is home to the state’s only remaining covered bridge, a picturesque 38-foot-long pine structure that provides passage over Beaverdam Creek, dates back to 1909, and sits beside a former gristmill. A couple can say their I do’s before an intimate party of 50 guests on the site abutting it. To reserve the space, Greenville County charges $200. For more information, visit greenvillerec.com.
Gilbertville Covered Bridge .. Hardwick, Massachusetts, USA The bridge was closed for 8 years, waiting for repairs. The restoration happened last year and the bridge was opened to traffic once again in October of 2010. It was originally built in 1886.
Chamberlin Covered Bridge Lyndon, Vermont, USA This is another bridge that has collected many names. The Chamberlin family owned a grist mill and sawmill nearby so the bridge was called the Chamberlin, Chamberlin Mill or Sawmill bridge. Years later Harold Whitcomb bought the property and changed it's name to his own, including calling the bridge the Whitcomb.
Chiselville Covered Bridge .. One of the names of this bridge is the High Bridge. The name comes from the fact that it was built 40 feet above the Roaring Branch of the Batten Kill River. In 1869 the previous bridge on this spot was destroyed by flooding. This new bridge was built by local builder Daniel Oatman to prevent any similar destruction. It's stood ever since.